Introductions

Syllabus week: the first week of classes where college kids don’t pay a whole lot of attention due to the fact that class involves reading the syllabus…. at least that is what we hope. In reality, the homework starts day 1 and does not stop until the end of finals week. I am quite optimistic about this semester even though classes only began two days ago for several reasons:

  1. I only have four class (as opposed to 5 the last semester I was on campus) and no labs (as opposed to 2).
  2. Blogging is an assignment. In most classes when you hand-in a writing assignment only the teacher reads it and unless you bring up the topic in class, you never really discuss what you wrote. Blogging allows for a larger audience to read and discuss what you have written.
  3. The required text for Game Theory actually made me laugh out loud today and had a whole section devoted to gender pronouns.

This blog was specifically created for Economics 350- Quantitative Methods of Economics and will primarily have posts for that class but on rare occasions like today when I don’t really have a whole lot going on, I may post on various other topics. Overall the semester looks promising (we’ll see how I feel in a week when everything really begins).

Fun Fact of the Day: more than 10 people a year are killed by vending machines

 

One thought on “Introductions

  1. Lauren, I’m so glad to hear that you’re excited about this project. Thanks for sharing the link above, too. I’m a huge proponent of both college and doing things that don’t necessarily “use” your college career. Good luck this semester. –Prof. Fletcher

Leave a comment